Wednesday, September 28, 2011

NASTY BOJANGLES---so disappointing

Hey Fry Friends,

It has been a while since my last post but this post is a MUST!!!! Last week after picking up my sister from JWU...lol...Johnson and Whales University in Charlotte, NC we stopped at Bojangles in Concord, NC. We really stopped because it was too much traffic, but I never turn down an opportunity to eat papas fritas. When we arrived at Bojangles it took too long to get our food. I mean drive thru's are meant to be quick. Not at this bojangles,  after waiting for like 20 minutes we finally got our food...only for me to have a disappointing meal. The chicken was dry and not tasty. I just had to chew and swallow that hard fried to a nasty crisp chicken. Then the unthinkable occured>>> the FRIES were hard and dried up...(OMG)----THE WORST!!!! I mean Bojangles really?

Steak Fries...oh I love them...you bite into them and get the best woof of potato's yum yum. They usually have a great crust around them and are soft in the inside like a twinkie. Thats only when steak fries are cooked to perfection. When they have sat out for a while they will be limp and soggy...when they have been overcooked you will bite into some lovely fried grease or hard teeth breaking potato's. But when they have been overcooked and leftout you will get exactly what I got at bojangles...cold potato's that you can barely chew that is rubbery too thick to swallow and just down right NASTY.

I think bojangles choosing steak fries to serve is an amazing and very smart choice. Usually steak fries are eaten with meaty meals. They are a heavy potato and really conclude a wonderful meal with chicken or beef. Its a meaty choice and a great choice for a chicken joint. To top off the steak fries they also have an amazing spicy/salty/cajun seasoning. With the amazing choice of fries and a great meal with wonderful seasoning you would think that this would be an enjoyable.

Now this Bojangles may have just had a bad day...but when you have steak fries as a product and its a recession you want to make sure that your clients are satisfied and served properly prepared, hot and fresh foods. Plus when the food is nasty and has to be thrown away...what a waste.

This Bojangles gets and FFFFFFFFF not an "F" for FRIES but and "F" for FAILURE...they failed to really treat their fries as a great precious commodity that it is. Fries for some people are just a quick snack but for me it completes the perfect meal. It is my chocolate, its like my ice cream, its the cherry on top of a cake...it makes a day better, it turns a blah meal into a FABULOUS MEAL!!!

Bojangles manager if you are out there and read this blog please do better for people who have a fry fetish like me and actually enjoy eating there. I cant believe I wasted my $3.00 on the worst fries I have tasted in a long time.

Until next time my fry lovers!!!

Wednesday, August 10, 2011

Zydeco's Visit

Wow this is my first blog...Im sooo siked!! LOL!! Okay so this visit was the actual visit where the idea of Fry Fetish was created. This visit will always be special and I hope to continue to travel to this restaurant.


Latest visit:

Zydeco's 
8 stars
208 Wolfe Street Raleigh, NC 27601

This restaurant is downtown Raleigh, NC (African American owned Business). Not only did we have great service and good Ice Tea (MY FAV) but the food was excellent. The fries were CRINKLE CUT. Im not a huge fan of the crinkle fries only because it takes a magnificent chef to actually cook them right.  Well Zydeco's gets a great 8 out of 10. They were well cooked, brought out hot (Cold Fries- ABSOLUTE NO NO) & fresh but a few of them were over cooked.

The risk you take by adding Crinkle Cut fries to your menu is that when you overcook them they fill with oil...YUCK...I mean aren't we all trying to be fit and healthy? So why do we want to eat a mouth full of grease? Ahhh thats a NO...so be careful chef's & mom's when you are frying CRINKLE CUT  fries we want to taste potato's not grease.

I enjoyed the fries @ Zydeco's...I ate them until I could not eat anymore was a little afraid I would have to be rolled out of the restaurant like a potato. I would recommend for anyone to go here...the food was better than the fries. The catfish, crab cakes, shrimp and grits, amazing. Food gets a 9 out of 10...but my interest was the fries...I mean no one is perfect so I understand...lol... Till my next experience...

Fries - OUT!!!! : )

Tuesday, August 9, 2011

The Beginning

Why A Blog about Fries?

Sitting at dinner with my friends, my boyfriend Sean came up with an amazing suggestion. Why don't you blog about what you love the most FRIES. Yes, people I have a fry fetish. Big, skinny, long, short, crinkle, shoestring, curly I do not discriminate against fries. I love them all. With this blog I plan to tell you not only my thoughts about fries but where the best and worse fries are in the triangle!!! Whatever you want to know about fries, or if you share in the same fetish of food read my blog, respond to my blog, and most importantly enjoy the food you eat!!!!

Fries around the city, state, and the world here I come!!!!

Fries- Out!!!!